DWI FAQ

MISSOURI DWI INFORMATION

By:  Gerald W. Linnenbringer, St. Louis DWI Lawyer

Missouri DWI Attorney

If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it is imperative that you retain attorney representation immediately.  A DWI conviction carries with it a number of potential consequences including points on your license, heavy fines, a license suspension, and even jail time.

Please note the importance of obtaining a lawyer immediately when charged with a DWI.  In Missouri, your driver's license will be automatically suspended when you are charged with a DWI.  This ruling can be challenged in an administrative hearing, but it must be done quickly.  Depending on the facts of your case, you may have as little as 15 days to file a request for an administrative hearing.

DWI charges should be fought aggressively.  If you have received a DWI you need to speak with an experienced DWI lawyer immediately, so please do not hesitate to call or email.  All discussions are confidential and free.  If after we speak you choose to proceed, we can discuss your case in greater detail and begin to formulate an effective defense.  Please see below for more information about DWI charges in Missouri and answers to frequently asked questions.



MISSOURI DWI F.A.Q.

  DWI LAW

  1. I was recently issued a DWI in Missouri - what should my first step be?
  2. I took a breathalyzer and blew over a .08 - how long do I have to act?
  3. I refused to blow but was still issued a DWI - what should I do now?
  4. Will I go to jail for my DWI?
  5. Is there anyway to keep the DWI conviction off of my record?
  6. How long will I lose my license?
  7. Will I be required to appear in court to resolve my DWI charge?
  8. How much will attorney fees be for representation on my DWI?
  9. What other costs are associated with resolving my DWI?
  10. My question is not answered here - how can I contact a DWI attorney?




MISSOURI DWI LAW ANSWERS


  I was recently issued a DWI in Missouri - what should my first step be?

If you have been issued a DWI you should call an attorney immediately. You have very limited time to act and take the appropriate steps to appeal your license suspension.

Back to Top

  I took a breathalyzer and blew over a .08 - how long do I have to act?

In situations where you provide the police a breath sample, you have 15 days to file an Administrative Appeal.

Back to Top

  I refused to blow but was still issued a DWI - what should I do now?

Whether you blow or not, your first step is still the same - talk to an attorney experienced in handling DWI charges immediately. The steps the attorney takes after he or she is hired will be different depending on whether you blew or not, but in both situations your timeframe in which to act is very limited. In Missouri, if you refuse to blow after you are stopped, your attorney will file a Petition for Review in the Circuit Court of the county in which you were stopped. The Petition for Review will temporarily put a stay on your license suspension, and allow your attorney to look into the specific facts surrounding your stop. In some situations, a defendant can avoid the license revocation all together through their Petition for Review. Please call me to discuss the specifics surrounding your case.on.

Back to Top

  Will I go to jail for my DWI?

Jail time is a possibility with any DWI, yes. However, jail time is exceedingly unlikely for your first-time DWI offense. Subsequent offenders can expect the possibility of a prosecutor requiring some sort of jail time with their plea agreement. It is not necessarily always the case, of course, but it is not rare.

Back to Top

  Is there anyway to keep the DWI conviction off of my record?

Yes, beyond taking the case to trial and winning, there are also alternative ways in which a DWI may be kept off of your record. One possibility is an amended charge. It is not easy to get a DWI charge amended to a lesser charge, but it does happen, particularly if the prosecutor has a particularly weak case. The more common method in which a DWI conviction is kept off your record is through a Suspended Imposition of Sentence (or SIS). An SIS involves the defendant being put on a term of probation, usually 2 years in the case of a first-time DWI. Provided the defendant completes probation without incident, and completes all required programs associated with their probation (usually SATOP and attendance at a Victim Impact Panel), the defendant will not receive a conviction at the end of probation. In Illinois, court supervision is a possibility for your DWI charge. Please contact me to discuss the possible and probable outcomes of your specific DWI charge.

Back to Top

  How long will I lose my license?

The answer to this question depends on a variety of factors. For an analysis of your specific situation, please contact me. Generally, however, for a first-time offender who agrees to do a breathalyzer and does not file an administrative appeal, the driver will face 30 days of no driving privileges followed by 60 days of limited driving privileges, assuming they have filed SR-22 insurance with the Department of Revenue. At the end of the 90 days, the driver is eligible to be fully reinstated provided they have completed SATOP, maintained SR-22 insurance, and paid their reinstatement fee.

Back to Top

  Will I be required to appear in court to resolve my DWI charge?

Probably yes. In most situations, a defendant will be required to appear in court one time to resolve their DWI charge.

Back to Top

  How much will attorney fees be for representation on my DWI?

Attorney fees will vary depending on the facts of your case, including whether or not your DWI was charged in state court versus municipal court, whether it is your first offense DWI, etc. However, I would estimate that for my representation, attorney fees average around $1,000 to $1,500.

Back to Top

  What other costs are associated with resolving my DWI?

Fines and costs due to the court, possible probation fees, recoupment fees (restitution paid to the police department that arrested you for the expenses they incurred in your arrest), and fees associated with programs such as SATOP, VIP, Defensive Driving School.

Back to Top

  My question is not answered here - how can I contact a DWI attorney?

The information provided here is for educational purposes only and should not be relied on as if legal advice pertaining to your individual situation.  I will be happy to speak with you regarding any questions you may have regarding your driving while intoxicated charge.  Contact info:  Missouri DWI lawyer.

Back to Top



HOME

HOW TO GET STARTED

COMPLETELY ONLINE

Shoot me an email with a description of your DWI, including whether you blew, what court the DWI is issued out of, any priors you may have, and any other information you think could help me assess the situation.  It may require a follow-up email or two from me, but once I have the necessary details, I can provide a price quote and a link to make payment.

FACE-TO-FACE

Call or email to make an appointment and then come on by.  We can discuss your DWI and complete the transaction in my office with cash, credit, or check.

CALL IT IN

Give me a call sometime and we'll go over the details of your DWI or traffic ticket.  I'll answer any questions you may have and provide a price quote.  If you choose to proceed, you can make payment right over the phone with a credit or debit card.  You will receive your receipt via email or mail, whichever you prefer.